The state of Laos borders China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and Myanmar.
The most important river is the Mekong, which originates in Tibet and branches out into a river delta of over 39,000 km² near Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam). The Mekong Delta drains into the South China Sea.
The country is about 50 % wooded. There are both rainforests with tropical plants and monsoon forests. Around 8% of the forests are classified as primeval forests.
Laos is home to predators such as leopards and tigers. As in the other countries of Southeast Asia, work elephants are used as pack animals.
The Buddhist temples used to be the spiritual center of every village in earlier times. The life of the Laotian people was determined by religion and most of their activities were carried out according to the Buddhist calendar. Vientiane and Luang Prabang are known as cities of the thousand temples and have a large number of examples of traditional art and architecture. The Royal Palace in Luang Prabang and the That-Luang-Stupa in Vientiane are the most famous national sanctuaries in Laos.

Culture & Community

The plains of the Mekong are the most densely populated, especially the region around the capital city. The mountainous areas in the east and north are sparsely populated.

Less than one third of the population lives in cities. Vientiane, the largest urban agglomeration, has a population of about 600,000.

The main religion in Laos is Theravada Buddhism, which came to the area of present-day Laos around 800 AD. It is a common custom for boys or young men to spend a few days to weeks in a temple as monks. Many families also have a small altar in their house.

PIC @states_of_bliss #laostourism #laos

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

School

PIC @togram._ #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

The Lao population of 4.9 million is ethnically and linguistically diverse. The government has defined 49 ethnic groups, many of them have their own language. School attendance, literacy and other indicators of educational success vary widely between ethnic groups.

Language

The official and dominant language is Lao, a sound language of the Tai Linguistic Group. However, only slightly more than half of the population can speak Lao. The rest, especially in rural areas, speak ethnic minority languages. The Lao alphabet, which developed between the 13th and 14th centuries, was derived from the old Khmer script and is very similar to Thai and is easily understood by the readers of the Thai script.

PIC @the_bradleybunch #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Food

PIC @annasophiastravels #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Laos cuisine is different from other Southeast Asian cuisines. Lao’s staple food is steamed sticky rice eaten by hand. The Lao eat more steamed sticky rice than any other person in the world. It is considered the essence of what it means to be Lao.
Breakfast is often served with rice and sun-dried beef with salt and sugar. Popular side dishes are also jao mak len, a paste of chili and fish, or padek, pickled salted and fermented fish, which is a staple food, fresh mangoes, grated coconut, tamarind and fried eggs. Apart from rice, a main meal usually includes soup, vegetables and fish or meat as well as a hot seasoning sauce.

Explore the Programs Available in Laos

Der Staat Laos grenzt an China, Vietnam, Kambodscha, Thailand und Myanmar.
Der bedeutendste Fluss ist der Mekong, der in Tibet entspringt und sich bei Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt (Vietnam) in ein über 39.000 km² ausgedehntes Flussdelta verästelt. Das Mekong-Delta entwässert in das Südchinesische Meer.
Das Land ist etwa zu 50 % bewaldet. Es gibt sowohl Regenwälder mit tropischen Pflanzen als auch Monsunwälder. Rund 8 % der Wälder werden als Urwald eingestuft.
Laos beheimatet Raubtierarten wie Leoparden und Tiger. Arbeitselefanten werden wie in den anderen Ländern Südostasiens als Lasttiere eingesetzt.
Die buddhistischen Tempel bildeten in früheren Zeiten in jedem Dorf das geistige Zentrum. Das Leben der laotischen Menschen war von der Religion bestimmt und die meisten Aktivitäten erfolgten nach dem buddhistischen Kalender. Vientiane und Luang Prabang sind als Städte der tausend Tempel bekannt und weisen eine große Anzahl von Beispielen traditioneller Kunst und Architektur auf. Der Königspalast in Luang Prabang und der That-Luang-Stupa in Vientiane sind die bekanntesten Nationalheiligtümer in Laos.

Kultur und Gesellschaft

Die größte Bevölkerungsdichte weisen die Ebenen am Mekong auf, darunter besonders die Region um die Hauptstadt. Die bergigen Gebiete im Osten und Norden sind sehr dünn besiedelt.

Weniger als ein Drittel der Bevölkerung lebt in Städten. Das größte urbane Ballungszentrum, Vientiane, hat eine Bevölkerung von ungefähr 600.000.

Die Hauptglaubensrichtung in Laos ist der Theravada-Buddhismus, der um 800 in das Gebiet des heutigen Laos kam. Es ist eine verbreitete Sitte, dass Jungen oder junge Männer ein paar Tage bis Wochen in einem Tempel als Mönch verbringen. Ebenso haben viele Familien einen kleinen Altar in ihrem Haus.

PIC @states_of_bliss #laostourism #laos

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Schule

PIC @togram._ #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Die Lao-Bevölkerung von 4,9 Millionen ist ethnisch und sprachlich vielfältig. Die Regierung hat 49 ethnische Gruppen definiert, viele haben ihre eigene Sprache. Schulbesuch, Alphabetisierung und andere Indikatoren des Bildungserfolgs variieren stark unter den verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen.

Sprache

Die offizielle und dominante Sprache ist Lao, eine Klangsprache der Tai sprachlichen Gruppe. Allerdings kann nur etwas mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung Lao sprechen. Der Rest, insbesondere in ländlichen Gebieten, sprechen ethnische Minderheitensprachen. Das Lao-Alphabet, das sich zwischen dem 13. und 14. Jahrhundert entwickelte, wurde aus dem alten Khmer-Skript abgeleitet und ist sehr ähnlich wie Thai und wird von den Lesern der thailändischen Schrift leicht verstanden.

PIC @the_bradleybunch #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Essen

PIC @annasophiastravels #laostourism

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Laos Tourism (@laostourism) am

Die Küche von Laos unterscheidet sich von anderen südostasiatischen Küchen. Das Grundnahrungsmittel des Laos ist gedämpft klebriger Reis, der von Hand gegessen wird. Die Lao essen mehr „steamed sticky rice“ als alle anderen Menschen in der Welt. Es gilt als die Essenz dessen, was es bedeutet, Lao zu sein.
Zum Frühstück wird oft Klebreis mit an der Sonne getrocknetem Rindfleisch mit Salz und Zucker serviert. Verbreitete Beilagen sind auch jao mak len, eine Paste aus Chili und Fisch, oder padek, eingelegter gesalzener und fermentierter Fisch, der ein Grundnahrungsmittel ist, frische Mangos, geriebene Kokosnuss, Tamarinden und gebratene Eier. Zu einer Hauptmahlzeit gehören außer Reis meist eine Suppe, Gemüse und Fisch oder Fleisch sowie eine scharfe Würzsauce.

Entdecke die verfügbaren Auslandsprogramme in Laos