The world’s second largest country, Canada stretches way into the Arctic and includes just about every terrain: Rocky Mountains, prairies, rugged coasts, sandy beaches, fertile valleys and cosmopolitan cities. Canada’s diverse heritage is united by a national passion for ice hockey.

Canadian teenagers love clubs and activities involving sports, orchestra, newspaper and drama. Student government is also an important and becoming more influential in school policies. You may be surprised by how many teenagers in Canada have after school jobs, such as babysitting or working at a local coffee shop.

Host Family & Community

You will probably live in a small town, in the countryside or even on a farm. Parents in Canadian families usually share household responsibilities, and children help out with everyday chores and preparing meals. Many Canadian families are also quite diverse, so you may be living with multiple cultures under one roof. Because reliable public transportation options are limited, families will plan in advance to make sure everyone gets a ride.

School

A photo posted by Nicole🙈 (@itsme.nicole) on

Local schools are very comprehensive and try to meet the educational needs of all school-age children in the community, often in one building.

Language

English and French are the official languages of Canada. Some schools will offer introductory language classes, however we encourage AFS students to arrive with a at least a basic knowledge of French (if you are staying in Quebec) or English (for other parts of Canada) so that they can participate in the regular curriculum.

Food

The food in Canada differs by the region, so for example, in Quebec there is a strong French influence and you’ll find lots of meat, potatoes, pea soup, French pastries, bread, crepes, and cheeses. A favorite snack is poutine, French fries covered with gravy and cheese.

Explore the Programs Available in Canada

Pars à la découverte du deuxième plus grand pays au monde et explore ses nombreux paysages – les Rocheuses, les prairies, les côtes escarpées, les plages sablonneuses, les vallées fertiles et les villes cosmopolites – et vis au rythme du sport national: le hockey sur glace. Aucune chance que le Canada te laisse indifférent!

Les adolescents canadiens pratiquent régulièrement des activités sportives, musicales, journalistiques et théâtrales. Cependant, tu pourras être surpris du nombre d’adolescents ayant un petit boulot en parallèle de leurs études (gardiennage ou service dans la restauration).

Famille d'accueil et société

Même si ta famille d’accueil est susceptible de résider n’importe où au Canada, il est très probable qu’elle soit située dans une petite ville ou en campagne. Les familles canadiennes sont également très diverses, de telle sorte que tu pourras peut-être vivre avec plusieurs cultures sous un même toit. Les options de transport public étant limitées en zone rurale, ta famille t’aidera, la plupart du temps, à te déplacer lors de tes sorties.

Scolarité

A photo posted by Nicole🙈 (@itsme.nicole) on

Le système scolaire peut varier selon ta région d’accueil. Au Québec, l’école secondaire dure 5 ans tandis que d’autres provinces peuvent compter jusqu’à 6 ans d’études secondaires. Les conseils d’étudiants occupent une place importante au sein des établissements.

Gastronomie

La gastronomie canadienne est aussi appétissante que variée. Les Canadiens préparent leur gibier, sanglier et wapiti par exemple, en l’accompagnant de légumes croquants. Les habitants des côtes océaniques, quant à eux, préfèrent les fruits de mer, comme les homards ou les moules bleues. Dans la verte province de l’Alberta, les cow-boys sont à l’origine de la consommation de biftecks juteux, de saumon fumé, de hamburgers de bison. Enfin, goûte absolument au sirop d’érable!

Canada : découvre les programmes disponibles