Panama also known as “the place of many fish” is a tropical paradise with beaches, rainforests and exotic animals, birds and and sea life of unparalleled beauty.  Sometimes called the “Eighth Wonder of the World,” the Panama Canal connects the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans and transformed this country into an international trade hub.

Academics play a major role in teen life here, with study groups a common after-school gathering. On weekends, groups of friends to go to the movies, play sports (baseball, soccer and basketball are favorites), dance and attend regional festivals.

Culture & Community

#Pollera 😊

A photo posted by Jassi 🙂 (@jasfisch) on

You will probably live in a small town or rural area in Panama. Your host family will want to know your whereabouts, so check in with your host parents before make decisions. Also, like your host siblings, don’t forget your household chores. 

School

You will probably attend a public school and be able to choose your field of study. School runs in two shifts—morning and afternoon, and all students wear school uniforms. Panama has one of the highest literacy rates in the region (97%).

Las quiero mucho ❤ #nadamasquedecir

A photo posted by Jassi 🙂 (@jasfisch) on

Language

#booklininpanama #afs55 #afspanama

A photo posted by Book Adisorn (@bookadisorn) on

The primary language in Panama is Spanish, and many people speak English as well. A basic knowledge of English will be helpful.

Food

Panamanian food is varied and delicious. Rice is the staple of the diet and is eaten twice a day. Meals include meat, beans, platanos (a type of starchy banana) and vegetables like tomatoes, carrots and cabbage. Don’t forget to taste the chichas, sweet cold fruit drinks.

Explore the Programs Available in Panama

Le Panama, dont le nom signifierait «abondance de poissons», est un paradis tropical de plages, de forêts, d’animaux et oiseaux exotiques, et d’une vie aquatique à la beauté inégalable. Le canal de Panama, qui relie les océans Atlantique et Pacifique, a fait du pays une plaque tournante internationale pour le commerce. Il est parfois surnommé la «huitième Merveille du monde».

La scolarité joue un rôle majeur dans la vie des jeunes Panaméens, qui se retrouvent après l’école pour étudier. Le week-end, ils vont entre amis au cinéma, faire du sport (base-ball, football et basket étant les favoris), danser et assister aux fêtes régionales.

Famille d’accueil et société

#Pollera 😊

A photo posted by Jassi 🙂 (@jasfisch) on

Tu vivras probablement dans une petite ville ou en zone rurale. Ta famille d’accueil voudra savoir quels lieux tu fréquentes : discutes-en donc avec tes parents d’accueil avant de prendre des décisions. De même, comme les frère et sœurs de ta famille d’accueil, ne néglige pas non plus les tâches ménagères.

Scolarité

Tu iras probablement dans une école publique, avec la possibilité de choisir ta discipline. La journée se divise en deux plages horaires (matin et après-midi), et tous les élèves portent l’uniforme. Savais-tu que le Panama possède un des taux d’alphabétisation les plus élevés d’Amérique latine (97 %)?

Las quiero mucho ❤ #nadamasquedecir

A photo posted by Jassi 🙂 (@jasfisch) on

Langue

#booklininpanama #afs55 #afspanama

A photo posted by Book Adisorn (@bookadisorn) on

La langue dominante au Panama est l’espagnol, mais beaucoup parlent également anglais. Des notions dans ces langues te seront utiles.

Gastronomie

La cuisine panaméenne est variée et délicieuse. Elle a pour denrée de base le riz, qui se mange deux fois par jour. Viande, haricots, «plantainas»bananes plantains, riches en amidon, et légumes (tomates, carottes ou encore chou) sont servis aux repas. N’oublie pas de goûter aux «chichas», ces savoureux rafraîchissements aux fruits.

Panama : découvre les programmes disponibles