years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

In the field of Environment, we have volunteer opportunities in Tasmania at Big Ears Animal Sanctuary, in Western Australia at Nearer to Nature or in Queensland at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Information on these exciting volunteer opportunities is below!

Big Ears Animal Sanctuary

  • What’s the organisation? Big Ears Animal Sanctuary is a not-for-profit organisation and registered charity. Our purpose is to provide shelter, care, rehabilitation and in some cases onward re-homing to animals. In need, whether they be lost, abandoned or mistreated.
  • What will the volunteer do? The volunteer will: feed and water a variety of animals, cleaning and washing up, working with sick animals in the hospital, grooming animals, helping apply medications/creams etc to the animals. The volunteer will get to experience working with a large array of animals. The volunteer will also be a part of the Big Ears volunteer team which are an inclusive group of people from a variety of backgrounds.
  • What are the requirements? Initiative and ability to work unsupervised and with others. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? A person with a love and interest in animals.
  • Location? Longford, Tasmania (rural placement)
  • Duration? Semester or trimester
  • More information: www.bigearsanimalsanctuary.com

Nearer to Nature

  • What’s the organisation? Nearer to Nature provides the community with unique, enjoyable activities that help participants discover marvellous natural areas in and around Perth and the South West. Specially designed activities are offered for schools, holidays periods and the general public. For schools we provide excursions, incursions, professional learning and resources that meet requirements of the Australian Curriculum. During the school holidays, fun, hands-on activities bring kids of all ages up close and personal with our wonderful plants and animals in some very special places. Nearer to Nature’s overall aim is to increase the community’s environmental awareness, knowledge and skills, including the related heritage of Indigenous and European cultures.
  • What will the volunteer do? The volunteer will assist in the preparation, organisation and running of nature-based educational activities. The role is dynamic, with tasks varying from day to day, and the atmosphere around the Centre is always happy and fun.
  • What are the requirements? Good English, communication skills, desire to work with young children and interest/experience in science and education is preferred. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? Will suit an applicant who plans to go on to become a teacher or study science or the environment.
  • Location? The Perth Hills Discovery Centre is located approximately seven minutes drive from the township of Mundaring. Located 34 kilometres from the centre of Perth city, Mundaring is a vibrant community with shops, cafes and recreational facilities.
  • Duration? Semester program
  • More information: www.dpaw.wa.gov.au

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

  • What’s the organisation? Only 12km from Brisbane City, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is the world’s first and largest koala sanctuary with over 130 koalas.  Hold a koala anytime, hand feed kangaroos and meet a large variety of Australian wildlife in beautiful, natural settings.
  • What will the volunteer do? Experience what it is like to be a wildlife keeper, and assist our keepers in the daily care of our wildlife. Tasks include food preparation, cleaning exhibits, monitoring visitors, tidying around the sanctuary, interacting with visitors and assisting with enquiries. Volunteers will have the opportunity to work with our koalas, macropods (kangaroos and wallabies), birds, mammals, and barnyard animals.
  • What are the requirements? Volunteers need to be responsible and reliable, friendly, hardworking and not mind getting dirty! For health and safety reasons, a good level of English comprehension is essential. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? An applicant with an interest in animals and their welfare.
  • Location? Brisbane, Queensland.
  • Duration? Trimester
  • More information: http://www.koala.net

Program Details

  • Program Type
    • Volunteering
  • Location
  • Program for an individual or for a group
    Individual
  • Program highlights
    • Get off the beaten track and experience life in regional Australia
    • Make a meaningful contribution to a local community
    • Live with an Australian host family

What's included in your experience

  • Host Family Placement
  • 24/7 Emergency Support
  • Meals
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Continuous Support
  • Pre-Departure Orientation
  • Orientations during your time abroad
  • Re-entry Orientation
  • Access to Alumni Network
  • Worldwide Presence
  • 70 Years Experience
  • Airport Pick-up
  • Domestic Transport
  • Medical Insurance
  • Community Service Placement

What you are responsible for

  • Airfare
  • Visa and Passport Fees
  • Stipend
  • Vaccinations

years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Dans le domaine de l’environnement, nous avons des opportunités de bénévolat en Tasmanie au Big Ears Animal Sanctuary, en Australie de l’Ouest à Nearer to Nature ou dans le Queensland au Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des renseignements sur ces possibilités de bénévolat passionnantes!

Big Ears Animal Sanctuary

  • Quelle est l’organisation? Big Ears Animal Sanctuary est une organisation à but non lucratif et un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré. Notre but est d’offrir un abri, des soins, une réadaptation et, dans certains cas, le retour aux animaux. Dans le besoin, qu’ils soient perdus, abandonnés ou maltraités.
  • Que fera le volontaire? Le volontaire devra: nourrir et abreuver une variété d’animaux, nettoyer et faire la vaisselle, travailler avec des animaux malades à l’hôpital, soigner les animaux, aider à appliquer des médicaments ou des crèmes, etc. aux animaux. Le bénévole pourra faire l’expérience de travailler avec une grande variété d’animaux. Le bénévole fera également partie de l’équipe de bénévoles de Big Ears, un groupe inclusif de personnes d’origines diverses.
  • Quelles sont les exigences? Initiative et capacité de travailler sans supervision et avec les autres. Vous trouverez d’autres critères d’admissibilité sous la rubrique « Exigences » ci-dessous.
  • Qui recherchons-nous? Une personne avec un amour et un intérêt pour les animaux.
  • Lieu?  Longford, Tasmanie (placement rural)
  • Durée? Semestre ou trimestre
  • Plus d’informations: www.bigearsanimalsanctuary.com

Nearer to Nature

  • Quelle est l’organisation? Plus près de la nature offre à la communauté des activités uniques et agréables qui aident les participants à découvrir de merveilleux espaces naturels dans et autour de Perth et du Sud-Ouest. Des activités spécialement conçues sont proposées pour les écoles, les périodes de vacances et le grand public. Pour les écoles, nous proposons des excursions, des incursions, un apprentissage professionnel et des ressources qui répondent aux exigences du programme d’études australien. Pendant les vacances scolaires, des activités ludiques et pratiques amènent les enfants de tous âges à découvrir nos magnifiques plantes et animaux dans des endroits très spéciaux. Plus près de la nature, l’objectif global est d’accroître la sensibilisation, les connaissances et les compétences de la communauté en matière d’environnement, y compris le patrimoine culturel autochtone et européen.
  • Que fera le volontaire? Le volontaire aidera à la préparation, à l’organisation et au fonctionnement d’activités éducatives basées sur la nature. Le rôle est dynamique, les tâches varient d’un jour à l’autre, et l’atmosphère autour du Centre est toujours joyeuse et amusante.
  • Quelles sont les exigences? Un bon anglais, des compétences en communication, le désir de travailler avec les jeunes enfants et l’intérêt/expérience en sciences et en éducation sont privilégiés. Vous trouverez d’autres critères d’admissibilité sous la rubrique « Exigences » ci-dessous.
  • Qui recherchons-nous? Un candidat qui envisage de devenir enseignant ou d’étudier les sciences ou l’environnement.
  • Lieu? Le Perth Hills Discovery Centre est situé à environ sept minutes en voiture du canton de Mundaring. Située à 34 kilomètres du centre-ville de Perth, Mundaring est une communauté dynamique avec ses boutiques, ses cafés et ses installations récréatives.
  • Durée? Semestre
  • Plus d’informations: www.dpaw.wa.gov.au

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

  • Quelle est l’organisation? À seulement 12 km de Brisbane City, le sanctuaire de Lone Pine Koala est le premier et le plus grand sanctuaire de koala au monde avec plus de 130 koalas.  Tenez un koala n’importe quand, nourrissez les kangourous à la main et rencontrez une grande variété d’animaux sauvages australiens dans un cadre naturel magnifique.
  • Que fera le volontaire? Vivez ce que c’est que d’être un gardien de la faune et aidez nos gardiens à prendre soin de la faune au quotidien. Les tâches comprennent la préparation des aliments, le nettoyage des expositions, la surveillance des visiteurs, le rangement autour du sanctuaire, l’interaction avec les visiteurs et l’aide aux demandes de renseignements. Les bénévoles auront l’occasion de travailler avec nos koalas, macropodes (kangourous et wallabies), oiseaux, mammifères et animaux de basse-cour.
  • Quelles sont les exigences? Les bénévoles doivent être responsables et fiables, amicaux, travailleurs et ne pas se salir! Pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité, un bon niveau de compréhension de l’anglais est essentiel. Vous trouverez d’autres critères d’admissibilité sous la rubrique « Exigences » ci-dessous.
  • Qui recherchons-nous? Un demandeur qui s’intéresse aux animaux et à leur bien-être.
  • Lieu? Brisbane, Queensland.
  • Durée? Trimestre
  • Plus d’informations: http://www.koala.net

Détails du programme

  • Type de programme
    • Bénévolat
  • Lieu
  • Programme individuel ou en groupe
    Individuel
  • Points forts du programme
    • Sortez des sentiers battus et découvrez la vie dans les régions d'Australie
    • Make a meaningful contribution to a local community
    • Live with an Australian host family

Prestations comprises dans le prix de nos programmes

  • Placement au sein d'une famille d'accueil
  • 24/7 Ligne d'urgence
  • Repas
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Encadrement continu
  • Préparation avant ton départ
  • Orientation pendant ton séjour à l'étranger
  • Ré-orientation
  • Accès au réseau mondial des alumnis
  • Présence dans le monde entier
  • 70 ans d'expérience
  • Prise en charge à l'aéroport
  • Transferts
  • Assurance maladie-accident
  • Placement au sein d'un projet bénévole

Prestations non comprises dans le prix de nos programmes

  • Billet d'avion
  • Frais de visa et passeport
  • Salaire
  • Vaccins