years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Our school is one of the 40 Freinet Schools in Flanders.

The school has a kindergarten and primary classes.
The aims of the school are to:
– have a constant attention for natural learning, based on the experiences and interests of the child
– work together, based on cooperative and democratic consultation instead of one-sided authority. Children are one of the three stakeholder groups in our school. As such, we want to stimulate the independency of children.
– experiment and learn-by-doing instead of applying rules and regulations, because the learning effect is much larger when a child can convert self-discovered material into new relations

The groups of children are structured in a way that there are always 2 age groups together. This stimulates the older children to learn from the younger ones and the other way around.
There is a lot a thematical approach – so called projects – especially in the kindergarten. There, kids can explore different themes that are fascinating them. In primary school, these projects are larger and more elaborate in time and space. The learning area of ‘world orientation’ is treated in these projects.

The volunteer will be part of the teachers team. She/he will get the opportunity to assist in different classrooms (mainly one, but some others) and to get a close look on the educational tools and methods of a ‘Freinetschool’. The principles of the Freinet-philosophy are related to ‘non-formal education’ and ‘experimental learning’. This means that the children have to work on a variety of projects with different themes. A lot of educational and practical guidance of the teachers is needed. Therefore it is an opportunity to have a volunteer next to the teachers who can help in these extra activities.

The tasks of the volunteer will evolve from practical help in the classroom to setting up a specific project. The velocity of this evolution will depend on the growing language and practical skills of the volunteer.
The volunteer will:
– Assist in mainly one classroom. This can be individual guidance of children who can not follow the lessons as good as the others. It can be to assist when the teacher is using a method where they need assistance, for example when they want to do an educational game to teach them something. It can also be to help with the classes when they are drawing, making something creative, or doing workshops, such as drama and theatre or teaching them new songs.
– Take part in outdoor activities with the children: swimming, excursions, thematical workshops,… For example, going to the forest in autumn to learn about this season, going to a museum where they have interactive workshops, going to a theatre or a movie and later in class having a debriefing about it, going to the seaside and learn about the typical vegetation there, going for a week somewhere together…
– Organise his/her own activities and workshops, depending on the interests of the volunteer. For example, setting up a project about her home country, teaching the children about the differences and similarities between cultures. A lot of time of the volunteer’s work will go to this aspect.

Program Details

  • Program Type
    • Teaching
    • Volunteering
  • Location
  • Program for an individual or for a group
    Individual
  • Program highlights
    • Learn more about Freinet education and its unique pedagogical approach
    • Immerse yourself in Belgian culture

What's included in your experience

  • Host Family Placement
  • 24/7 Emergency Support
  • Meals
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Continuous Support
  • Pre-Departure Orientation
  • Orientations during your time abroad
  • Re-entry Orientation
  • 70 Years Experience
  • Individual Contact Person
  • Airport Pick-up
  • Domestic Transport
  • Visa Application Assistance
  • Community Service Placement
  • Language Instruction

What you are responsible for

  • Visa and Passport Fees
  • Vaccinations
  • Field Trips
  • Cultural Tours

years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Notre école est l’une des 40 écoles Freinet en Flandre.

L’école a une maternelle et des classes primaires.
Les objectifs de l’école sont de:
– Avoir une attention constante pour l’apprentissage naturel, basé sur les expériences et les intérêts de l’enfant
– travailler ensemble, sur la base d’une concertation coopérative et démocratique plutôt que sur la base d’une autorité unilatérale. Les enfants sont l’un des trois groupes de parties prenantes de notre école. En tant que tel, nous voulons stimuler l’indépendance des enfants
– Expérimenter et apprendre par la pratique au lieu d’appliquer des règles et des règlements, parce que l’effet d’apprentissage est beaucoup plus important lorsqu’un enfant peut convertir du matériel découvert par lui-même en de nouvelles relations

Les groupes d’enfants sont structurés de manière à ce qu’il y ait toujours 2 groupes d’âge ensemble. Cela stimule les enfants plus âgés à apprendre des plus jeunes et inversement.
Il y a beaucoup d’approches thématiques – appelées projets – surtout à la maternelle. Les enfants peuvent y explorer différents thèmes qui les fascinent. A l’école primaire, ces projets sont plus importants et plus élaborés dans le temps et l’espace. Le domaine d’apprentissage « orientation mondiale » est traité dans ces projets.

Le bénévole fera partie de l’équipe des enseignants. Il/elle aura l’occasion d’assister dans différentes salles de classe (principalement une, mais aussi d’autres) et de voir de plus près les outils et méthodes pédagogiques d’une « Freinetschool ». Les principes de la philosophie Freinet sont liés à l’éducation non formelle et à l’apprentissage expérimental. Cela signifie que les enfants doivent travailler sur une variété de projets avec des thèmes différents. Les enseignants ont besoin de beaucoup de conseils éducatifs et pratiques. C’est donc l’occasion d’avoir un bénévole à côté des enseignants qui peuvent aider dans ces activités supplémentaires.

Les tâches du volontaire passeront d’une aide pratique en classe à la mise en place d’un projet spécifique. La vitesse de cette évolution dépendra de la langue et des compétences pratiques croissantes du volontaire.
Le volontaire le fera:
– Aider principalement dans une salle de classe. Cela peut être un accompagnement individuel d’enfants qui ne peuvent pas suivre les leçons aussi bien que les autres. Il peut s’agir d’aider lorsque l’enseignant utilise une méthode où il a besoin d’aide, par exemple lorsqu’il veut faire un jeu éducatif pour lui apprendre quelque chose. Il peut aussi s’agir d’aider les élèves lorsqu’ils dessinent, fabriquent quelque chose de créatif ou font des ateliers, comme du théâtre et du théâtre ou leur apprennent de nouvelles chansons.
– Participez à des activités de plein air avec les enfants: baignade, excursions, ateliers thématiques,… Par exemple, aller en forêt à l’automne pour en apprendre plus sur cette saison, aller au musée où ils ont des ateliers interactifs, aller au théâtre ou au cinéma et plus tard en classe pour faire un debriefing, aller à la mer et découvrir la végétation typique là-bas, partir ensemble pour une semaine…
– Organiser ses propres activités et ateliers en fonction des intérêts du bénévole. Par exemple, mettre en place un projet sur son pays d’origine, enseigner aux enfants les différences et les similitudes entre les cultures. Beaucoup de temps du travail du volontaire sera consacré à cet aspect.

Détails du programme

  • Type de programme
    • Bénévolat
    • Cours
  • Lieu
  • Programme individuel ou en groupe
    Individuel
  • Points forts du programme
    • En savoir plus sur l'éducation Freinet et son approche pédagogique unique
    • Immerse yourself in Belgian culture

Prestations comprises dans le prix de nos programmes

  • Placement au sein d'une famille d'accueil
  • 24/7 Ligne d'urgence
  • Repas
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Encadrement continu
  • Préparation avant ton départ
  • Orientation pendant ton séjour à l'étranger
  • Ré-orientation
  • 70 ans d'expérience
  • Personne de contact
  • Prise en charge à l'aéroport
  • Transferts
  • Assistance aux formalités de visa
  • Placement au sein d'un projet bénévole
  • Cours de langues

Prestations non comprises dans le prix de nos programmes

  • Frais de visa et passeport
  • Vaccins
  • Séjours
  • Excursions culturelles