years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

In the field of Environment, we have volunteer opportunities in Tasmania at Big Ears Animal Sanctuary, in Western Australia at Nearer to Nature or in Queensland at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Information on these exciting volunteer opportunities is below!

Big Ears Animal Sanctuary

  • What’s the organisation? Big Ears Animal Sanctuary is a not-for-profit organisation and registered charity. Our purpose is to provide shelter, care, rehabilitation and in some cases onward re-homing to animals. In need, whether they be lost, abandoned or mistreated.
  • What will the volunteer do? The volunteer will: feed and water a variety of animals, cleaning and washing up, working with sick animals in the hospital, grooming animals, helping apply medications/creams etc to the animals. The volunteer will get to experience working with a large array of animals. The volunteer will also be a part of the Big Ears volunteer team which are an inclusive group of people from a variety of backgrounds.
  • What are the requirements? Initiative and ability to work unsupervised and with others. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? A person with a love and interest in animals.
  • Location? Longford, Tasmania (rural placement)
  • Duration? Semester or trimester
  • More information: www.bigearsanimalsanctuary.com

Nearer to Nature

  • What’s the organisation? Nearer to Nature provides the community with unique, enjoyable activities that help participants discover marvellous natural areas in and around Perth and the South West. Specially designed activities are offered for schools, holidays periods and the general public. For schools we provide excursions, incursions, professional learning and resources that meet requirements of the Australian Curriculum. During the school holidays, fun, hands-on activities bring kids of all ages up close and personal with our wonderful plants and animals in some very special places. Nearer to Nature’s overall aim is to increase the community’s environmental awareness, knowledge and skills, including the related heritage of Indigenous and European cultures.
  • What will the volunteer do? The volunteer will assist in the preparation, organisation and running of nature-based educational activities. The role is dynamic, with tasks varying from day to day, and the atmosphere around the Centre is always happy and fun.
  • What are the requirements? Good English, communication skills, desire to work with young children and interest/experience in science and education is preferred. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? Will suit an applicant who plans to go on to become a teacher or study science or the environment.
  • Location? The Perth Hills Discovery Centre is located approximately seven minutes drive from the township of Mundaring. Located 34 kilometres from the centre of Perth city, Mundaring is a vibrant community with shops, cafes and recreational facilities.
  • Duration? Semester program
  • More information: www.dpaw.wa.gov.au

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

  • What’s the organisation? Only 12km from Brisbane City, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is the world’s first and largest koala sanctuary with over 130 koalas.  Hold a koala anytime, hand feed kangaroos and meet a large variety of Australian wildlife in beautiful, natural settings.
  • What will the volunteer do? Experience what it is like to be a wildlife keeper, and assist our keepers in the daily care of our wildlife. Tasks include food preparation, cleaning exhibits, monitoring visitors, tidying around the sanctuary, interacting with visitors and assisting with enquiries. Volunteers will have the opportunity to work with our koalas, macropods (kangaroos and wallabies), birds, mammals, and barnyard animals.
  • What are the requirements? Volunteers need to be responsible and reliable, friendly, hardworking and not mind getting dirty! For health and safety reasons, a good level of English comprehension is essential. Further eligibility requirements can be found under the ‘Requirements’ section below.
  • Who will this suit? An applicant with an interest in animals and their welfare.
  • Location? Brisbane, Queensland.
  • Duration? Trimester
  • More information: http://www.koala.net

Program Details

  • Program Type
    • Volunteering
  • Location
  • Program for an individual or for a group
    Individual
  • Program highlights
    • Get off the beaten track and experience life in regional Australia
    • Make a meaningful contribution to a local community
    • Live with an Australian host family

What's included in your experience

  • Host Family Placement
  • 24/7 Emergency Support
  • Meals
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Continuous Support
  • Pre-Departure Orientation
  • Orientations during your time abroad
  • Re-entry Orientation
  • Access to Alumni Network
  • Worldwide Presence
  • 70 Years Experience
  • Airport Pick-up
  • Domestic Transport
  • Medical Insurance
  • Community Service Placement

What you are responsible for

  • Airfare
  • Visa and Passport Fees
  • Stipend
  • Vaccinations

years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Im Bereich Umwelt haben wir Freiwilligeneinsätze in Tasmanien im Big Ears Animal Sanctuary, in Westaustralien in Nearer to Nature oder in Queensland im Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Informationen über diese spannenden Möglichkeiten der Freiwilligenarbeit findest du weiter unten!

Big Ears Animal Sanctuary

  • Wer sind wir? Big Ears Animal Sanctuary ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation und eingetragene Wohltätigkeitsorganisation. Unser Ziel ist es, Unterkünfte, Pflege, Rehabilitation und in manchen Fällen auch die Wiedereingliederung von Tieren in Not zu ermöglichen.
  • Was wird der Freiwillige tun? Die Freiwilligen werden: Füttern und Tränken einer Vielzahl von Tieren, Putzen und Abwaschen, Arbeiten mit kranken Tieren im Krankenhaus, Pflegen von Tieren, Helfen bei der Anwendung von Medikamenten/Cremes usw. Die Freiwilligen lernen die Arbeit mit einer großen Anzahl von Tieren kennen. Der Freiwillige wird auch ein Teil des Big Ears Freiwilligenteams werden, das eine integrative Gruppe von Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund darstellt.
  • Was sind die Voraussetzungen? Eigeninitiative und die Fähigkeit, unbeaufsichtigt und mit anderen zusammenzuarbeiten. Weitere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen findest du im Abschnitt „Anforderungen“ weiter unten.
  • Wer ist geeignet? Eine Person mit Liebe und Interesse an Tieren.
  • Standort? Longford, Tasmanien (ländliche Umgebung)
  • Dauer? Semester oder Trimester
  • Mehr Informationen: www.bigearsanimalsanctuary.com

Nearer to Nature

  • Wer sind wir? Nearer to Nature bietet der Region einzigartige, unterhaltsame Aktivitäten, die den Teilnehmern helfen, wunderbare Naturgebiete in und um Perth und im Südwesten zu entdecken. Speziell konzipierte Aktivitäten werden für Schulen, Ferienzeiten und die breite Öffentlichkeit angeboten. Für Schulen bieten wir Exkursionen, professionelles Lernen und Ressourcen, die den Anforderungen des Australian Curriculums entsprechen. Während der Schulferien bringen spielerische und praxisnahe Aktivitäten Kinder aller Altersgruppen mit unseren wunderbaren Pflanzen und Tieren ganz nah zusammen. Das übergeordnete Ziel von Nearer to Nature ist es: das Umweltbewusstsein, das Wissen und die Fähigkeiten in der Gemeinschaft zu stärken, einschließlich des damit verbundenen Erbes der indigenen und europäischen Kulturen.
  • Was wird der Freiwillige tun? Der Freiwillige wird bei der Vorbereitung, Organisation und Durchführung von naturwissenschaftlichen Bildungsaktivitäten behilflich sein. Die Rolle ist dynamisch, die Aufgaben variieren von Tag zu Tag, und die Atmosphäre rund um das Zentrum ist immer fröhlich und lustig.
  • Was sind die Voraussetzungen? Gute Englischkenntnisse, Kommunikationsfähigkeiten, Lust am Umgang mit Kleinkindern und Interesse an Naturwissenschaften und Bildung werden bevorzugt. Weitere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen finden Sie im Abschnitt“Anforderungen“ weiter unten.
  • Wer ist geeignet? Jemand der beabsichtigt, Lehrer zu werden oder Naturwissenschaften oder Umwelt zu studieren.
  • Standort? Das Perth Hills Discovery Centre liegt etwa sieben Autominuten von der Gemeinde Mundaring entfernt. Mundaring liegt 34 Kilometer vom Zentrum der Stadt Perth entfernt und ist eine lebendige Gemeinde mit Geschäften, Cafés und Freizeiteinrichtungen.
  • Dauer? Semesterprogramm
  • Mehr Informationen: www.dpaw.wa.gov.au

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

  • Wer sind wir? Nur 12 km von Brisbane City entfernt, ist das Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary das erste und größte Koala Sanctuary der Welt mit über 130 Koalas. Knüpfe Freundschaften mit Koalas, fütte Kängurus mit der Hand und treffe eine große Vielfalt an australischen Wildtieren in wunderschönen, natürlichen Umgebungen.
  • Was wird der Freiwillige tun? Erlebe, wie es ist, ein Tierpfleger zu sein, und unterstütze unsere Tierpfleger bei der täglichen Pflege unserer Tiere. Zu den Aufgaben gehören die Zubereitung der Speisen, die Reinigung der Exponate, die Überwachung der Besucher, das Aufräumen im Sanktuarium, die Interaktion mit den Besuchern und die Unterstützung bei Anfragen. Freiwillige Helfer haben die Möglichkeit, mit unseren Koalas, Makropoden (Kängurus und Wallabys), Vögeln, Säugetieren und Bauernhoftieren zu arbeiten.
  • Was sind die Voraussetzungen? Freiwillige Helfer müssen verantwortungsbewusst, zuverlässig, freundlich und fleissig sein und dürfen sich nicht schämen, schmutzig zu werden! Aus Gründen der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes ist ein gutes Verständnis der englischen Sprache unerlässlich. Weitere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen findest du im Abschnitt“Anforderungen“ weiter unten.
  • Wer ist geeignet? Bewerber mit Interesse an Tieren und ihrem Wohlergehen.
  • Standort? Brisbane, Queensland.
  • Dauer? Trimester
  • Mehr Informationen http://www.koala.net

Programmdetails

  • Programmtyp
    • Freiwilligeneinsatz
  • Ort
  • Programm für Einzelpersonen oder Gruppe
    Einzelpersonen
  • Programm Highlights
    • Abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade erlebst du das Leben im ländlichen Australien
    • Make a meaningful contribution to a local community
    • Live with an Australian host family

Im Preis inbegriffen sind

  • Gastfamilie
  • 24/7 Notfallunterstützung
  • Verpflegung
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Ständiger Support
  • Vorbereitungs-Camp in der Schweiz
  • Welcome-Camp im Gastland
  • Nachbereitung-Camp in der Schweiz
  • Zugang zum Alumni Netzwerk Weltweite
  • Weltweite Präsenz
  • 70 Jahre Erfahrung
  • Abholung am Flughafen
  • Transfers
  • Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
  • Vermittlung des Einsatzprojektes

Dafür bist du zuständig

  • Flug
  • Visum und Passgebühren
  • Lohn
  • Impfungen