years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Our school is one of the 40 Freinet Schools in Flanders.

The school has a kindergarten and primary classes.
The aims of the school are to:
– have a constant attention for natural learning, based on the experiences and interests of the child
– work together, based on cooperative and democratic consultation instead of one-sided authority. Children are one of the three stakeholder groups in our school. As such, we want to stimulate the independency of children.
– experiment and learn-by-doing instead of applying rules and regulations, because the learning effect is much larger when a child can convert self-discovered material into new relations

The groups of children are structured in a way that there are always 2 age groups together. This stimulates the older children to learn from the younger ones and the other way around.
There is a lot a thematical approach – so called projects – especially in the kindergarten. There, kids can explore different themes that are fascinating them. In primary school, these projects are larger and more elaborate in time and space. The learning area of ‘world orientation’ is treated in these projects.

The volunteer will be part of the teachers team. She/he will get the opportunity to assist in different classrooms (mainly one, but some others) and to get a close look on the educational tools and methods of a ‘Freinetschool’. The principles of the Freinet-philosophy are related to ‘non-formal education’ and ‘experimental learning’. This means that the children have to work on a variety of projects with different themes. A lot of educational and practical guidance of the teachers is needed. Therefore it is an opportunity to have a volunteer next to the teachers who can help in these extra activities.

The tasks of the volunteer will evolve from practical help in the classroom to setting up a specific project. The velocity of this evolution will depend on the growing language and practical skills of the volunteer.
The volunteer will:
– Assist in mainly one classroom. This can be individual guidance of children who can not follow the lessons as good as the others. It can be to assist when the teacher is using a method where they need assistance, for example when they want to do an educational game to teach them something. It can also be to help with the classes when they are drawing, making something creative, or doing workshops, such as drama and theatre or teaching them new songs.
– Take part in outdoor activities with the children: swimming, excursions, thematical workshops,… For example, going to the forest in autumn to learn about this season, going to a museum where they have interactive workshops, going to a theatre or a movie and later in class having a debriefing about it, going to the seaside and learn about the typical vegetation there, going for a week somewhere together…
– Organise his/her own activities and workshops, depending on the interests of the volunteer. For example, setting up a project about her home country, teaching the children about the differences and similarities between cultures. A lot of time of the volunteer’s work will go to this aspect.

Program Details

  • Program Type
    • Teaching
    • Volunteering
  • Location
  • Program for an individual or for a group
    Individual
  • Program highlights
    • Learn more about Freinet education and its unique pedagogical approach
    • Immerse yourself in Belgian culture

What's included in your experience

  • Host Family Placement
  • 24/7 Emergency Support
  • Meals
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Continuous Support
  • Pre-Departure Orientation
  • Orientations during your time abroad
  • Re-entry Orientation
  • 70 Years Experience
  • Individual Contact Person
  • Airport Pick-up
  • Domestic Transport
  • Visa Application Assistance
  • Community Service Placement
  • Language Instruction

What you are responsible for

  • Visa and Passport Fees
  • Vaccinations
  • Field Trips
  • Cultural Tours

years-experience access-alumni-network airfare airport-pick-up assistance-with-application-process community-service-placement continuous-support cultural-trips domestic-transport emergency-support field-trips global-competence-certificate grade-transcripts host-family-placement housing individual-contact-person internship-placement language-instruction meals medical-insurance orientations-during-your-time-abroad other pre-departure-orientation product-materials re-entry-orientation school-dipolma school-materials school-placement school-transport school-uniform stipend teaching-materials vaccinations visa-and-passport-fees visa-application-assistance world-wide-presence

Unsere Schule ist eine der 40 Freinet-Schulen in Flandern.

Die Schule verfügt über einen Kindergarten und Grundschulklassen.
Die Ziele der Schule sind es:
– natürliches Lernen, basierend auf den Erfahrungen und Interessen der Kinder, zu fördern.
– Zusammenarbeit auf der Grundlage kooperativer und demokratischer Konsultation statt einseitiger Autorität. Kinder sind eine der drei Anspruchsgruppen unserer Schule. Damit wollen wir die Unabhängigkeit der Kinder fördern.
– Experimentieren und Lernen statt Regeln und Vorschriften, denn der Lerneffekt ist viel größer, wenn ein Kind selbst entdecktes Material in neue Beziehungen verwandeln kann.

Die Kindergruppen sind so strukturiert, dass es immer 2 Altersgruppen zusammen gibt. Das regt die älteren Kinder an, von den jüngeren zu lernen und umgekehrt.
Es gibt viele thematische Ansätze – so genannte Projekte – vor allem im Kindergarten. Dort können Kinder verschiedene Themen erforschen, die sie faszinieren. In der Grundschule sind diese Projekte größer und aufwändiger. In diesen Projekten wird der Lernbereich Weltoffenheit behandelt.

Der Freiwillige wird Teil des Lehrerteams sein. Sie/er wird die Möglichkeit haben, in verschiedenen Klassenzimmern zu assistieren und einen genauen Einblick in die pädagogischen Werkzeuge und Methoden einer Freinetschule zu bekommen. Die Grundsätze der Freinet-Philosophie beziehen sich auf die Bereiche non-formale Bildung und experimentelles Lernen. Das bedeutet, dass die Kinder an einer Vielzahl von Projekten mit unterschiedlichen Themen arbeiten müssen. Viel pädagogische und praktische Anleitung der Lehrer ist notwendig. Daher ist es von Vorteil, neben den Lehrern einen Freiwilligen zu haben, der bei diesen zusätzlichen Aktivitäten helfen kann.

Die Aufgaben der Freiwilligen reichen von praktischer Hilfe im Klassenzimmer bis hin zur Entwicklung eines konkreten Projekts.
Der Freiwillige wird:
– Im Klassenzimmer assistieren. Dies kann eine individuelle Betreuung von Kindern sein, die den Unterricht nicht so gut wie die anderen verfolgen können. Es kann auch darum gehen, den Klassen beim Zeichnen zu helfen, etwas Kreatives zu machen, Workshops wie Theater und Theater zu machen oder ihnen neue Lieder beizubringen.
– Outdoor-Aktivitäten mit den Kindern: Schwimmen, Exkursionen, thematische Workshops,… Zum Beispiel, im Herbst in den Wald gehen, um etwas über diese Jahreszeit zu erfahren, in ein Museum gehen, wo interaktive Workshops stattfinden, ins Theater oder ins Kino gehen und später in der Klasse eine Nachbesprechung darüber machen, ans Meer gehen und die typische Vegetation dort kennenlernen…
– Organisieren von eigene Aktivitäten und Workshops, je nach Interesse des Freiwilligen. Zum Beispiel ein Projekt über ihr Heimatland um den Kinder die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen den Kulturen aufzuzeigen. Ein Großteil der Zeit der Freiwilligenarbeit darauf verwendet.

Programmdetails

  • Programmtyp
    • Freiwilligeneinsatz
    • Unterrichten
  • Ort
  • Programm für Einzelpersonen oder Gruppe
    Einzelpersonen
  • Programm Highlights
    • Erfahre mehr über die Freinet-Ausbildung und ihren einzigartigen pädagogischen Ansatz
    • Immerse yourself in Belgian culture

Im Preis inbegriffen sind

  • Gastfamilie
  • 24/7 Notfallunterstützung
  • Verpflegung
  • Global Competence Certificate
  • Ständiger Support
  • Vorbereitungs-Camp in der Schweiz
  • Welcome-Camp im Gastland
  • Nachbereitung-Camp in der Schweiz
  • 70 Jahre Erfahrung
  • Persönliche Kontaktperson
  • Abholung am Flughafen
  • Transfers
  • Unterstützung beim Visumantrag
  • Vermittlung des Einsatzprojektes
  • Sprachkurs

Dafür bist du zuständig

  • Visum und Passgebühren
  • Impfungen
  • Ausflüge
  • Kulturelle Ausflüge