Hong Kong is a modern, busy, densely populated city with an impressive skyline of high rise buildings. Despite its status as a key financial and trading hub of Asia, you will find many herbal medicine shops, roadside fortune tellers, wheelbarrows, and birds in cages being taken for strolls in the city’s parks. Hong Kong is home to many diverse religions and traditions—influenced by Chinese and British cultures.

Teens in Hong Kong are very serious about education. Free time is spent with their family or visiting nearby relatives. There are a lot of clubs (netball team, athletic club, debating society, drama club, history club, etc.) and extra-curricular activities to join to make friends. When out for the evening, try singing karaoke with friends.

Culture & Community

You will probably live in an urban area on the mainland or other outlying areas. It’s common for both parents to work long hours, and for grandparents to live with your host family in a small apartment. Respecting your host parents wishes and family time is important. Families prefer to eat together at home on weekdays. Expect to dine out on the weekends, especially for Sunday yum cha (lunch), and perhaps travel to mainland China.

School

You will attend a secondary school where classes are taught either in English (an EMI) or Chinese (a CMI). EMIs and CMIs are public high schools with a set of core classes and elective subjects like tourism, music, or Chinese literature. Your school will be heavily academically oriented, intensive and demanding. The school year runs from September to July, for about 8 hours a day. Most classes are in the form of lectures and students are expected to wear uniforms.

Language

A photo posted by 曾素盈/Antonia (@ann_jv) on

Both English and Chinese (most often Cantonese) are official languages in Hong Kong. You should have a basic knowledge of English before your exchange and be prepared to learn Cantonese. AFS will provide Cantonese classes at the beginning of your stay.

Food

Hong Kong offers plenty of delights for your taste buds. A basic meal consists of fish, meat, eggs, vegetables and rice or noodles, and most dishes are stir-fried or steamed. Salads, raw vegetables and dairy products such as milk or cheese, are available in Hong Kong, but are not common. Many students bring lunch with rice and meat from home to school.

A photo posted by 嚴君意 (@chiaradugo99) on

Explore the Programs Available in Hong Kong

Hong Kong est une ville dense, animée et moderne avec des gratte-ciel impressionnants qui dominent le paysage. Malgré son statut de centre financier et commercial de l’Asie, tu trouveras de nombreuses boutiques de médecines à base de plantes, des diseurs de bonne aventure en bordure de route, des brouettes et des oiseaux en cages. Hong Kong abrite plusieurs religions et traditions, grandement influencées par les cultures chinoise et britannique.

Les jeunes de Hong Kong prennent leur éducation très au sérieux. Les temps libres sont passés avec leur famille et leurs proches. Il existe de nombreux clubs sociaux (netball, athlétisme, théâtre, etc.) et parascolaires pour se faire des amis. Lors de tes soirées entre amis, essaie-toi au karaoké!

Famille d'accueil et société

Tu vivras probablement dans un milieu urbain. Il est commun que les deux parents travaillent de longues heures et que les grands-parents vivent avec ta famille d’accueil dans un petit appartement. Il est primordial de respecter les volontés des parents et de passer du temps avec eux. Les familles préfèrent manger ensemble à la maison durant les soirs de semaine et sortir les fins de semaine, surtout le dimanche «yum cha» (souper). Tu auras peut-être même la chance de voyager en Chine continentale.

Scolarité

Tu fréquenteras une école publique qui enseigne soit en anglais (un EMI) ou en chinois (un CMI). Il s’agit d’écoles publiques qui offrent des cours obligatoires et des cours à option, comme le tourisme, la musique ou la littérature chinoise. Ton école sera très axée sur la performance académique et sera exigeante. L’année scolaire s’étend de septembre à juillet, avec huit heures de cours par jour. La plupart des classes sont sous la forme de conférences et les élèves doivent porter des uniformes.

Langue

A photo posted by 曾素盈/Antonia (@ann_jv) on

L’anglais et la langue chinoise (plus souvent le cantonais) sont les langues officielles de Hong Kong. Tu devras avoir une certaine connaissance de l’anglais avant ton départ et te préparer à apprendre le cantonais. AFS offrira des cours de cantonais au début de ton séjour.

Gastronomie

Hong Kong offre des délices pour tous les goûts. Un plat typique se compose de poisson, de viande, d’œufs, de légumes et de riz ou de nouilles. La plupart des plats sont sautés ou cuits à la vapeur. On peut trouver des salades, des légumes frais et des produits laitiers comme du lait et du fromage, même s’ils sont peu consommés. Plusieurs étudiants amènent leur souper de la maison à l’école.

A photo posted by 嚴君意 (@chiaradugo99) on

Hong Kong : découvre les programmes disponibles